Mac & Cheese: The Definition Of Comfort Food

Photos: Borbala Zergi

Dear Friends,

I’m  huge fan of romantic comedies and idyllic family movies with a happy ending. These films definitely shaped my personality and I think if anything, they did so for the better. There’s a growing tendency of hate towards these movies, it became cool to turn against anything that’s a potential blockbuster. But I keep on watching my favourites… 🙂 In some of these movies there’s usually a iconic dish that keeps coming up throughout the story. For me, it’s Mac & cheese because I only saw it in movies for very long and when I finally tasted the boxed kind, I was blown away. Obviously, due to my young age, I couldn’t care less about gastronomy and about how unreal and unhealthy that box of cheese pasta was for me. Fortunately, later on I realised that the internet is full of different variations and takes on this simple recipe. So here’s my take on it with sour cream and gouda cheese.

What you need

500 g maccheroni pasta, cooked and drained  (you can use any kind of pasta you’d like) a

-4 tbsp. unsalted butter

-4 tbsp. all purpose flour

-salt and pepper to taste

-500 ml whole milk, warm

-150 g grated gouda cheese

150 g grated mozzarella cheesa

-100 g grated parmesan cheese

-2 tbsp. breadcrumbs

-100 g bacon cut into cubes

-4 tbsp. sour cream

_mg_8450

What you do

  1. Cook the maccheroni pasta according to the instructions on the package. Don’t worry about overcooking it, with this al dente is not a must. _mg_8451
  2. In a sauce pan melt the butter. When it starts to bubble up, add the flour, mix well, then add the warmed milk. Keep stirring it until it becomes slightly thick. In the meantime, in a frying pan, cook the bacon. Fry them until they’re golden brown. _mg_8457
  3. To the bechamel add the grated cheese and bacon cubes (drain the fat if necessary). Mix it well. It should become an ooey-gooey mixture.
  4. To the cheesy bechamel add the cooked and drained pasta. Pour the whole thing into a heat proof pan. Spread the sour cream on top, sprinkle with breadcrumbs and some more parmesan cheese. Put it in the oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 30 to 40 minutes, or until it’s beautiful, golden brown. _mg_8474_mg_8480

Optional: If you like the heat, use your fave hot sauce like Tabasco or Tapatio. 🙂

For presentation, I used a 1000 % compostable plate made of sugar cane, and cuttleries made of cornstarch. These can be purchased at the Auchan supermarkets in Hungary and  in  bijó webshop and soon in the Yama online store too.

I’ll be back soon with more deliciousness!

Love,

Fatima

Leave a Reply

